Commonwealth Procurement Awards for Excellence – Nominations Now Open!

The Commonwealth Procurement Awards for Excellence (the Awards) help promote the important role procurement plays in delivering services and outcomes for government, citizens and the business community. An initiative of the Centre of Procurement Excellence, the aim of the Awards is to raise the profile of procurement in Commonwealth entities - lifting the capability of the Commonwealth procurement cohort, driving effective engagement with the business community and demonstrating a commitment to excellence in procurement.

Nominations for the 2022 Awards are now open. All non-corporate Commonwealth entities and prescribed corporate Commonwealth entities are encouraged to nominate in one or more of the following Awards categories:

Building Entity Capability (Download Nomination Template)
  • The Building Entity Capability Category recognises leadership or excellence in building procurement capability across an entity to ensure that all procurements deliver value for money.
Delivering Innovation through Procurement (Download Nomination Template)
  • The Delivering Innovation through Procurement Category recognises how procurement outcomes were achieved through innovative solution/s.
Engaging with Small and Medium Enterprises (Download Nomination Template)
  • The Engaging with Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs) Category recognises strategies or approaches that maximised the potential for SMEs to engage and participate in a procurement. 
Procuring for Digital Services (Download Nomination Template)
Sponsored by the Digital Transformation Agency
  • The Procuring for Digital Services Category recognises how procurement outcomes were achieved either through innovative digital enabled market approaches or that best encouraged and enabled innovative digital solutions/outcomes.

Nominations should be for activities conducted over the past couple of years, where benefits have been, or are still being, realised.

Additional information, including nomination and judging guidelines can be found in the Information Kit.

Nomination categories reflect the diverse nature of Commonwealth procurements with past Award nominations covering the gamut from bespoke to business-as-usual procurements. Find out more about past Awards recipients below.

Key Dates



Nominations Open

Wednesday 6 April 2022

Nominations Close

Close of business Friday 17 June 2022

Judging Panel Presentations

July-August 2022 (to be confirmed)

Awards Ceremony

To be confirmed

For further information, guidance or support on the Awards please contact the Centre of Procurement Excellence team at

Did you find this content useful?