Intergovernmental Agreement on Data Sharing

The Intergovernmental Agreement on Data Sharing (IGA) commits all jurisdictions to share public sector data as a default position, where it can be done securely, safely, lawfully and ethically. The IGA came into effect in July 2021, and sets out agreed principles for data sharing.

It is supported by the National Data Sharing Work Program.

Find more information on the Intergovernmental Agreement on data sharing between Commonwealth and State and Territory governments at

National Data Sharing Work Program

Under the IGA, Data and Digital Ministers are responsible for agreeing and overseeing a National Data Sharing Work Program to focus national effort on specific time-limited priority data sharing areas. The Work Program is reviewed every 6 months and includes both; projects in agreed priority data sharing areas and over-arching data-sharing system reform initiatives.

Did you find this content useful?