2023 Commonwealth Procurement and Contract Management Awards for Excellence

The nomination period is closed.

The Commonwealth Procurement and Contract Management Awards for Excellence (the Awards) help promote the important role procurement and contract management plays in delivering services and outcomes for government, citizens, and the business community.

As an initiative of the Centre of Procurement Excellence, the aim of the Awards is to raise the profile of procurement and contract management in Commonwealth entities - lifting the capability of the Commonwealth, driving effective engagement with the business community, and demonstrating a commitment to excellence.

This year, we have refreshed multiple categories based on the current procurement landscape and the expansion of the Centre of Procurement Excellence to include contract management. Results from the 2022 Commonwealth Procurement Capability Self-Assessment Survey indicated that contract management, strategic procurement, sustainable procurement, and market engagement are areas for the APS to focus on. By shifting the award categories to capture these areas we hope to showcase entities who are doing well in this space, and generate discussions and ideas within other entities on how they too could do better. 

While the Nomination period for the Awards has closed, you might like to consider submitting an Expression of Interest for the Supplier Spotlight. Whilst not an Award, the Supplier Spotlight is a new initiative that seeks to examine supplier experiences in engaging with the Commonwealth, as well as the types of contributions that Commonwealth suppliers can make to Australian industry sectors, communities, and the broader Australian economy.

For more information on this initiative, or if you would like to spotlight a supplier, see the Expression of Interest form available under ‘Downloads’, on the upper-right menu. Expression of Interest forms need to be completed and submitted by Commonwealth entities.

2023 Award Categories

For the 2023 Awards, we have three awards categories.  These are outlined below:

Building Entity Capability 

The Building Entity Capability category recognises leadership and excellence in building procurement and/or contract management capability within an entity or across the APS to ensure value for money is delivered throughout the procurement lifecycle.  

Encouraging Environmental Sustainability through Procurement

The Encouraging Environmental Sustainability through Procurement category recognises leadership in using recycled content and embedding environmental sustainability into procurement design and delivery, including the management of the ongoing arrangement.

Generating Broader Benefits to the Australian Economy through Procurement

The Generating Broader Benefits to the Australian Economy through Procurement category recognises strategies or approaches to a procurement valued over $4 million (or $7.5 million for construction services) which generate outcomes and value to the Australian economy above and beyond the value of the goods and services being procured.

Please check this webpage and the Procurement and Contract Management Community of Practice (CoP) regularly for updates on the 2023 Awards! You can also view the 2022 Award winners on the CoP showcasing their nominations and how they exhibited procurement excellence.  

If you have any questions on the Awards, please contact the Procurement Excellence team at procurementexcellence@finance.gov.au.

Key Dates

Nominations Open10 July 2023
Nominations ClosedContact the team at ProcurementExcellence@finance.gov.au
ShortlistingSeptember 2023
Awards CeremonyEarly November 2023

Previous Winners

Find out more about previous Awards recipients by following the links below:


Did you find this content useful?