The Secretary

Rosemary Huxtable has led Finance since October 2016 and was appointed Secretary in February 2017. As Secretary, Rosemary is responsible for all functions and services delivered by the department, including supporting the delivery of the Australian Government Budget, overseeing the financial framework of Australian Government entities, providing shareholder oversight of GBEs, managing the Australian Government’s non-Defence domestic property portfolio and aspects of public sector modernisation.

Rosemary joined Finance in June 2013 as Deputy Secretary of Budget and Financial Reporting. Before that, Rosemary was a Deputy Secretary in the Department of Health and Ageing and was responsible for driving significant health and aged care reforms, particularly in the areas of Medicare, the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme, hospital financing, mental health and aged care.

Rosemary has worked extensively in the areas of budget management and health and community services across both public and private sectors, including 30 years in Commonwealth administration.

Rosemary was awarded a Public Service Medal in 2005 for her contribution to developing innovative policies to strengthen the Australian healthcare system, particularly access to medical services through Medicare.

Rosemary Huxtable PSM

Did you find this content useful?