Nathan Watson

The Comcover Awards for Excellence in Risk Management (the Awards) recognise and reward Commonwealth entities that exhibit excellence in risk management thinking and practice. They also recognise and reward entities that have systems that support innovation and improved decision making.

Award categories

Entities can nominate in one or both Award categories:

  • Enterprise Wide Risk Management [Word document 72 KB]  – for excellence in implementing risk management frameworks, practices and processes across the entity.
  • Risk Initiative [Word document 75 KB] – for excellence in risk management demonstrated by a specific entity program/project, or service delivery initiative.

Benefits of participating

As reinforced by the Independent Review of the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 and Rule, rewarding effective risk engagement and encouraging learning from failure, should be practiced in all entities.

Participating in the Awards program provides an opportunity to showcase leaders and pass on lessons learnt in risk management across the Commonwealth.

How to apply for 2019 Awards

The Awards are open to all Comcover Fund Members.

How do you participate in the Awards?

Key Dates

Nominations open 1 July 2019
Nominations close 16 August 2019
Shortlisted nominees present to judging panel Mid-September 2019
Awards Ceremony Early November 2019

Previous Award Winners

Profiles of previous years’ winners are available via the below links, together with case studies of some of the winners.

Further Information

The Awards support Comcover’s key business objective of promoting best practice risk management, to improve policy formulation and delivery of government programs and services.

For further information regarding the Awards please contact us by email comcover@comcover.com.au or phone 1800 651 540 (option 4).