Contact and help

The Australian Government's study into the Accessibility of the Portable Document Format for people with a disability


Submissions to the public consultation

Individuals (15)

Organisations (19)

Government organisations (4)

Organisations providing assistive technology data

To determine the most common assistive technologies in Australia, representatives from the following organisations provided their insights:

In addition, postings were placed on the Blind Citizens Australia and Vision Impaired People’s Information List in Australasia. The posts asked the members what version of assistive technology and browser they used to access the web. Twenty-one responses were received.


Accessibility Supported

To qualify as a W3C ‘Accessibility Supported’ technology the technologies must first “be designed in a way that user agents including assistive technologies could access all the information they need to present the content to the user. Secondly, the user agents and assistive technologies may need to be redesigned or modified to be able to actually work with these new technologies.” External Site.

ARIA- Accessible Rich Internet Applications

Web Accessibility Initiative Accessible Rich Internet Applications Suite (WAI-ARIA) defines a way to make Web content and Web applications more accessible to people with a disability. It especially helps with dynamic content and advanced user interface controls developed with Ajax, HTML, JavaScript, and related technologies. External Site.

Assistive technology

Assistive technologies are products used by people with a disability to help accomplish tasks that they cannot accomplish otherwise or could not do easily otherwise. When used with computers, assistive technologies are sometimes referred to as adaptive software or hardware.

Some assistive technologies are used together with graphical desktop browsers, text browsers, voice browsers, multimedia players, or plug-ins. Some accessibility solutions are built into the operating system, for instance the ability to change the system font size, or configure the operating system so that multiple-keystroke commands can be entered with a sequence of single keystrokes. External Site.


Developed by the DAISY Consortium, the Digital Accessible Information System (DAISY) is a digital format that assists people that have challenges using regular printed media. DAISY digital talking books offer the benefits of regular audio books, but include navigation based on the structure of the file. DAISY requires a specialised software or hardware player to access the content. External Site.

Sufficient Techniques

Sufficient Techniques provide guidance and examples for meeting WCAG 2.0 guidelines using specific technologies. These techniques have been considered satisfactory by the WCAG Working Group. Multiple Sufficient Techniques may be listed for a success criterion and any listed technique can be used to meet the success criterion. This list is not exclusive and there may be other techniques that can also be used to meet a success criterion. External Site.

Success Criteria

Testable success criteria exist under each WCAG 2.0 guideline. These statements are technology independent and specify the requirements for conformance to WCAG 2.0. In order to meet the needs of different groups and different situations, success criteria are grouped into three levels of conformance: A (lowest), AA (medium) and AAA (highest). External Site.

WCAG 2.0

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) explain how to make web content accessible to people with a disability. Version 1.0 of WCAG (WCAG 1.0) was published in May 1999. WCAG 2.0 was published on 11 December 2008. According to the W3C, WCAG 2.0 applies broadly to more advanced technologies; is easier to use and understand; and is more precisely testable.

In February 2010 the Australian Government endorsed WCAG 2.0 and in June 2010 issued the Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy outlining how government websites in Australia should progress their conformance to WCAG 2.0.

WCAG 2.0 has 12 guidelines that are organised under 4 principles: perceivable, operable, understandable and robust. For each guideline there are testable success criteria, which are at three levels: A, AA and AAA. Sufficient and advisory techniques have been developed for specific technologies and provide guidance on how to meet the WCAG 2.0 success criteria. External Site.


Contact for information on this page:

Back to top

Last Modified: 26 November, 2010