Heritage Management Plan for the Former Mint Administration Building, Deakin ACT

Notification for Public Consultation under the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 (EPBC Act).
Public Comment

The Royal Australian Mint (RAM), constructed in 1964, consists of two unique buildings formerly referred to as the Royal Australian Mint Process Building and the Mint Administration Building. The RAM buildings comprise historic and architectural values of significance, and were included in the Commonwealth Heritage List in January 2016.

The former Mint Administration Building has not been utilised for operations of the RAM since 2007, and has been tenanted by Questacon’s National Science and Technology Centre since 2011.

The Commonwealth Department of Finance (Finance) has prepared a draft Heritage Management Plan for the former Mint Administration Building, located at 60 Denison Street, Deakin ACT, to protect and manage the site’s Commonwealth Heritage values.

Under paragraph 341S(6)(b) of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999,  Finance invites comment on the draft Heritage Management Plan from members of the public, key stakeholders including Indigenous peoples with rights and interests in the place, and the ACT Government.

The draft Heritage Management Plan can be viewed in hardcopy at the Civic Public Library or can be downloaded from the following link:

The closing date for public comment is 5.00pm AEDT, on Thursday 20 December 2018.

Comments should be forwarded to:

National Divestment Team
Department of Finance
One Canberra Ave
Email:  DivestmentTaskforce@finance.gov.au

Last updated: 27 November 2018