Shared Services Delivery

Delivery via hubs

The shared services hubs are focused on delivering common services to agencies, driving efficiencies across the APS through increased scale and the adoption of best-practice approaches.

Shared services hubs are located in:

  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Department of Home Affairs
  • Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources (Industry)
  • Service Delivery Office (Finance)
  • Services Australia

Shared service functions

Traditional shared services have been delivered with a focus on business process. Value Streams are a new and innovative way for SAP-based provider hubs to deliver corporate services. They group related business process and activities that provide a view of end-to-end functions—for example human resource processes from hire to retire.

The proposed Value Streams are:

Hire to Retire

Hire to Retire is the human resource management lifecycle over the course of an individual’s career with an agency. It includes attraction, recruitment, onboarding and mobility, pay and conditions management, performance management and development, workforce management and retentions and separation activities.

Budget to Report

Budget to Report handles the financial management lifecycle of an agency, from its external budget through to the release of financial statements. It includes external budgeting, internal budgeting, aggregating sub-ledger, consolidate, adjust and close, and reporting.

Procure to Pay

Procure to Pay covers the purchasing and contract lifecycle for the acquisition of goods and services required to support the business of an agency. It includes sourcing, requisition, order processing, payments and reporting.

Revenue to Bank

Revenue to Bank administers the management of revenue through to Banking and Treasury functions. It includes: Agree proposal for funding and charging arrangement, formalise agreement, deliver services, raise & issue invoices, receipt & bank, manage outstanding items, reporting & data management.

Expense Management

Expense Management handles the lifecycle of credit card application within an organisation, including its use and related management. It includes card application and maintenance, use & acquit, authorise, integration and reporting, and compliance.

Enquire to Resolve

Enquire to Resolve handles the lifecycle of issue and query resolution for all Value Streams. The processes that Enquire to Resolve provides include: hub service management, billing management, issue reporting, issue resolution, issue escalation and query resolution. Enquire to Resolve will include a number of issue resolution mediums, including: online, phone, self-service and chatbots.


The Travel Value Stream covers the initiation of business related trips, their booking and subsequent reconciliation. It includes trip initiation and approval, trip planning, managing advances and allowances, acquitting and authorising trip expenses and travel reporting.

Prepare to Adopt

Prepare to Adopt is the onboarding Value Stream for the transition to shared services. It supports the seven project phases and the outcomes per phase to execute an effective on-boarding of a client.

Did you find this content useful?