Commonwealth Awards for Excellence in Risk Management 2023

The Commonwealth Awards for Excellence in Risk Management (the Awards) raise awareness of the significance of risk management across the Commonwealth by highlighting best practice risk management and rewarding entities that exhibit excellence in risk management thinking and practice.

Benefits of participating

Award recipients and their entities are recognised at an Awards event at the end of each year. The benefits of participating in the Awards include:

  • the opportunity to showcase the approach to risk management in your entity;
  • peer recognition of your commitment to risk management; and
  • the opportunity to receive valuable feedback from a panel of judges.

Award nominations inform the Comcover education program and facilitate continuous improvement in Commonwealth risk management practice.


The Awards are open to all Commonwealth entities. Entities can nominate in one or more of the following award categories:

  • Enterprise-Wide: for excellence in developing, implementing and/or embedding an entity’s risk management frameworks, practices and/or processes.
  • Risk Initiative: for excellence in risk management demonstrated by a specific program, project or service delivery initiative.
  • Risk in Focus 2023 - Insurable Risk: for excellence in managing the insurable risk(s) of an entity to minimise or prevent an entity’s insurable losses.

Nominations for the 2023 Awards closed on 22 September 2023. The winners of each category will be announced at a ceremony on Tuesday 21 November 2023, at the National Press Club of Australia.

Key Dates

Nominations close22 September 2023
Shortlisted nominations present to judging panel11-13 October 2023
Awards ceremony21 November 2023

Further information

If you have any questions or require further information, please contact us on 1800 651 540 (option 4) or e-mail

Previous Award Winners

Profiles and case studies of Award winners are available at the links below:

Did you find this content useful?