Awards for Excellence

One of the key functions of Comcover is to support entities to demonstrate greater transparency and accountability in the management of risks. The insurance coverage provided by Comcover is just one risk treatment strategy entities can access through Comcover. The Comcover Awards for Excellence in Risk Management are part of a broader risk management program administered by Comcover.

The Awards recognise exceptional and inspiring examples of risk management and demonstrate how essential risk management is to the success of Australian Government entities.

2018 Awards Recipients

Congratulations to all Award recipients and thank you to everyone that attended the presentation of the 2018 Awards for Excellence at the Hyatt Hotel in Canberra on 5 October 2018.

The Awards are an important way to raise the profile and significance of risk management across the Commonwealth, by supporting and sharing the promotion of best practice risk management. Comcover will promote the 2018 Award recipients through their risk and education services including training, case studies, guidance, and seminars.

Comcover would like to make special mention of, and congratulate the Department of Veterans’ Affairs on winning the Risk Initiative category for the delivery of the Sir John Monash Centre Project.

The centre, adjacent to the Australian National Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux, on the site of the Western Front in France, commemorates Australian service personnel who served in the First World War and opened just before the Anzac Day 2018. The centre is designed to engage and educate current and future generations about the Australian experience on the Western Front and is our most significant cultural institution outside Australia.

A selection of the award recipient’s submissions will also be presented at the 2018 Comcover Conference on 30 November at the National Convention Centre in Canberra.

Further information about the Conference will be available shortly.

Department of Finance Secretary, Ms Rosemary Huxtable with the Department of Veterans’ Affairs award winners

Department of Finance Secretary, Ms Rosemary Huxtable with the Department of Veterans’ Affairs award winners.

Risk Initiative category
Winner  Department of Veterans’ Affairs
The Sir John Monash Centre project
Highly Commended Australian Maritime Safety Authority
Dynamic Separation
Highly Commended  Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Risk Return Resource Allocation
Honourable Mention   Administrative Appeals Tribunal
Amalgamation of the Commonwealth Merits Review Bodies
Honourable Mention  Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
Automatic Entry Processing for Commodities
Shortlisted  Department of Education
The Matrix (reloaded)
Shortlisted  Department of Defence
Security Risk Management Workshop


Enterprise-wide category
 Highly Commended   Department of the Environment and Energy
 Highly Commended   Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
 Highly Commended   Department of Agriculture and Water Resources
 Honourable Mention   The Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority
 Shortlisted   Comcare

Benefits of participating

One of the four key themes reported in the Independent Review of Whole-of-Government Internal Regulation (Belcher Red Tape Review) related to the current culture of risk aversion across Government. The review highlighted the importance of addressing this issue in order to improve public sector agility and performance.Benefits of participating

One of the key actions noted in the review is for entities to establish an acceptable level of risk to encourage innovation. Participating in the Awards program provides entities with an opportunity to showcase their prominence as leaders in risk management across Government.

Previous Award Recipients

Profiles of previous years’ recipients are available here, together with case studies of some of the recipients.

For further information regarding this page contact us or phone 1800 651 540 (option 4).

Last updated: 15 November 2018