Australian Government Organisations Register

Dataset/Register last updated: 30 November 2015

Purpose and Background

The Australian Government Organisations Register (the Register) provides information on the function, composition, origins and other details of 1,193 Australian Government entities, bodies and relationships. The Register replaced the List of Government Bodies and Governance Relationships, which was last published in 2009.

The Register is based on information collected to date from portfolios. The Register will be updated at least twice-yearly. Also available is a summary of key statistics for the Register PDF document.

The Register allows users to search using key words. For further information on the types of data captured in the Register, please refer to the Guide to Register Fields PDF document.

A complete dataset of bodies and fields Excel spreadsheet in Excel can be downloaded.

Enter the Register link

Updates to the Register as at 30 November 2015

The Register has been updated to reflect the changes made to portfolios due to the machinery of government changes announced by the Prime Minister in September 2015.  These Administrative Arrangement Order (AAO) changes can be found at

This update does not change the total number of bodies reported by the Register.  For further information on the movements between the portfolios, please refer to the Register movements webpage 

Overall, as part of the October 2015 update, 20 bodies have been removed from the Register as they have been ceased, with the total number of bodies on the Register now 1,193 bodies, heading towards 1,147 once further announced reductions are implemented.

Bodies as at last update (1 July 2015)* 1,182
New bodies created 31
Cessations/consolidations -20
Current number of bodies (as at 23 October 2015) 1,193
Net reduction in bodies the Government is in the process of ceasing or consolidating** -46
Adjusted total 1,147

*As part of the October update, a number of bodies have been added to the Register requiring a revision of previous totals.  These are bodies that were in existence prior to the last biannual update, but not captured by previous Portfolio data collections.  They have been identified through the improved awareness the Register is generating about governance arrangements. The total of 1,182 is a restated total. It includes:

  • an additional 45 bodies that portfolio departments advised the Department of Finance were in existence, but were not included in prior updates of the Register; and,
  • the removal of 8 bodies which were reclassified. Reclassifications include bodies that have been re-assessed to be internal management bodies.

** These bodies will remain on the Register until they have ceased operations or consolidation has occurred. Further information can be found on each individual body’s page on the Register (for example, see the “Central Trades Committee” page).

For further information on the movements in the number of bodies, please refer to the Register movements webpage [Register movements hyperlink].

Scope of the Register

There are 12 main types of bodies PDF document which are listed in the Register:

  • Principal Australian Government Entity
    • Non-Corporate Commonwealth Entity;
    • Corporate Commonwealth Entity;
    • Commonwealth Company.
  • Secondary Australian Government Entity
    • Advisory Body – Policy and Stakeholder Consultation;
    • Statutory Office Holders, Offices and Committees;
    • Non-Statutory – Function with Separate Branding;
    • Ministerial Councils and related bodies, including those established by the Council of Australian Governments (COAG);
    • Inter-jurisdictional and international bodies.
  • Other Entities
    • Subsidiaries of Corporate Commonwealth Entities and Commonwealth Companies;
    • Joint Ventures, Partnerships and Other Companies;
    • National Law Bodies;
    • Bodies Linked to the Australian Government through Statutory Contracts, Agreements and Delegations.


The Register excludes the following bodies:

  • Internal management, advisory and administration bodies (including Commonwealth officials-only working groups and inter-departmental committees) – many of these are time limited and serve administrative and policy development/co-ordination purposes that are internal to government.
  • The High Court of Australia - it is not a Commonwealth entity due to its status under its enabling legislation.
  • Parliamentary Committees - their creation is controlled by the Parliament rather than the Government.
  • Bodies that have been announced by the Government, but which are not yet established or substantially operational. 

For more information, please contact with your query.

Please note that queries on specific bodies and relationships will be forwarded to the relevant Portfolio for a response.

Last updated: 18 July 2016