Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy

The Australian Government’s adoption and implementation of Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.0 (WCAG 2.0)


The Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy sets a course for improved web services, paving the way for a more accessible and usable web environment that will more fully engage with, and allow participation from, all people within our society.

Accessibility has been a government priority for a number of years. With the release of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines version 2.0 (WCAG 2.0), developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), the Australian Government is poised to improve the provision of information and services online.

WCAG 2.0 sets an improved level of accessibility, to cater to the needs of a constantly evolving and increasingly dynamic web environment. As the government embraces Web 2.0, and employs more citizen-centric tools to engage with the public, our commitment to accessibility increases.

Indeed, the implementation of W3C guidelines for Australian Government websites is not new; WCAG is the internationally recognised benchmark for website accessibility. However, this is an important milestone for government, and for people accessing government information. Never before have we embarked upon such a significant effort to improve website accessibility, delivered on a whole-of-government basis, with strengthened governance and reporting arrangements in-built.

The next few years present great challenges and opportunities to government, through the implementation of WCAG 2.0. These will be overcome and celebrated in collaboration with our peers across portfolios, jurisdictions and governments around the world.

I hope you will join me on this journey.

Ann Steward
Australian Government Chief Information Officer
Australian Government Information Management Office
Department of Finance and Deregulation
June 2010

Full Publication

Table of Contents

  • Introduction
  • About WCAG 2.0
  • Mandate
    • Authority
    • Governance
  • Scope
    • Inclusions and Exclusions
    • Retrospectivity and Legacy Content
    • Exemptions
    • Opt-out Arrangements (Federal Government Only)
    • Reporting
    • Resources, Guidance and Tools
  • Work Plan
    • Phase 1: Preparation – July 2010 to December 2010
    • Phase 2: Transition – January 2011 to December 2011
    • Phase 3: Implementation – Complete by December 2012 and December 2014

Copyright Notice

Notwithstanding the general copyright licence provided for on www.finance.gov.au, and with the exception of the Commonwealth Coat of Arms and where otherwise noted, all material presented in this document is provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Australia [External Site] licence.

Creative Commons logo

The details of the relevant licence conditions are available on the Creative Commons website (accessible using the links provided) as is the full legal code for the CC BY 2.5 AU licence [External Site].

The report should be attributed as the Australian Government Web Accessibility National Transition Strategy.

Use of the Coat of Arms

The terms under which the Coat of Arms can be used are detailed on the It's an Honour [External Site] website.


For enquiries regarding the licence and any use of the report contact: ictpolicy@finance.gov.au

Contact for information on this page: WCAG2@finance.gov.au

Last updated: 24 March 2015