Commonwealth Procurement Rules

An amended version of the Commonwealth Procurement Rules (CPRs) commenced on 1 March 2017.

CPRs July 2014 [PDF document 1.1 MB]   CPRs March 2017 [PDF document 788 KB]

The CPRs are the basic rule set for all Commonwealth procurements and govern the way in which entities undertake their own processes. The 2014 version of the Commonwealth Procurement Rules was in place until 1 March 2017.

The government announced updates to the CPRs External link in November 2016 to commence on 1 March 2017. In addition to these, a small number of minor changes have been made to improve clarity of language and presentation. A table detailing all amendments [PDF document 276 KB] has been prepared to assist entities in understanding the changes in moving from the 2014 CPRs to the updated rules from 1 March 2017. Guidance on the new rules in Division 2 has been developed and is available below. 

Official versions of the CPRs are available from the Federal Register of Legislation External link.

Guidance – commencing 1 March 2017

Section of the CPRsNew paragraphNew text addedGuidance

Specifications and Standards


Where an Australian standard is applicable for goods or services being procured, tender responses must demonstrate the capability to meet the Australian standard, and contracts must contain evidence of the applicable standards (see paragraph 10.37).

Application and verification of standards [PDF document 788 KB]


Contract management/Standard verification


Where applying a standard (Australian, or in its absence, international) for goods or services, relevant entities must make reasonable enquiries to determine compliance with that standard:

  1. this includes gathering evidence of relevant certifications; and
  2. periodic auditing of compliance by an independent assessor.

Conditions for participation


Officials must make reasonable enquiries that the procurement is carried out considering relevant regulations and/or regulatory frameworks, including but not limited to tenderers’ practices regarding:4

  1. labour regulations, including ethical employment practices;
  2. occupational, health and safety; and
  3. environmental impacts.

Consideration of relevant regulations and/or frameworks [PDF document 394 KB]

Value for Money and broader benefits to the Australian economy


In addition to the considerations at paragraph 4.4, for procurements above $4 million, Commonwealth officials are required to consider the economic benefit of the procurement to the Australian economy

Consideration of broader economic benefits in procurement [PDF document 248 KB]




The policy operates within the context of relevant national and international agreements and procurement policies to which Australia is a signatory, including free trade agreements and the Australia and New Zealand Government Procurement Agreement.

Commonwealth Procurement Rules Contents


Division 1 - Rules for all Procurements

Division 2 - Additional rules for procurements at or above the relevant procurement threshold



Back to top

Last updated: 31 March 2017