Australian Government ICT Awards Program

'Inspiring agencies to excel and achieve'

The Department of Finance administers a suite of Awards to recognise and promote excellence, innovation and professionalism in the use of Information and Communications Technology (ICT). The Australian Government introduced the ICT Awards Program in 2006 to recognise the most outstanding initiatives in eGovernment and to promote excellence in the use of ICT across all Australian Government agencies (Federal, State & Territory, and Local).

Since their establishment the Awards have been expanded to recognise outstanding professionalism by teams or individuals working in ICT in the Australian Government arena and to recognise outstanding practice in the use and impact of digital tools and social media.

Nominations now open for:

Nominations accepted online until 6pm Tuesday 3 March 2015.
No entries will be accepted after the 3 March 2015 deadline.

Note: Copies of the nomination forms are also available to download to assist in preparing your nomination and managing your approval processes prior to transferring your data to the online form.

Important dates for 2015

Nomination forms (Word doc) available for download Monday 5 January 2015
Awards open for online nomination:
  • Excellence in eGovernment Awards
  • ICT Young Professional of the Year
  • ICT Professional of the Year
Monday 2 February 2015
Labour Day (WA) Monday 2 March 2015
Nominations close Tuesday 3 March 2015
Finalists announced Wednesday 8 April 2015
Announcement of Award & Category winners
  • Excellence in eGovernment Awards
  • ICT Professional of the Year
  • ICT Young Professional of the Year

(Awards presented at the CeBIT Gala Dinner and Awards Night)

Wednesday 6 May 2015

 Want to know more about the Awards available?

There are two streams in the Awards program, the Excellence in eGovernment Awards which recognise specific project initiatives, and a suite of Awards which recognise individual and/or team based practices. Nominations are accepted from all spheres of government across Australia, Federal, State & Territory and Local Government.

  1. Project based Awards

    Excellence in eGovernment Award
    Recognises the most outstanding initiatives in eGovernment across a number of ICT disciplines.

  2. Individual and/or team based Awards

    Government 2.0 Innovator
    This Award was incorporated into the ICT Professional of the Year Award in 2014.

    ICT Professional of the Year Awards
    Recognises outstanding achievement by a team and/or an individual in any ICT discipline.

    ICT Young Professional of the Year Award
    Recognises outstanding achievement in any ICT discipline by an individual who is 35 years of age or under.

    Women in ICT Awards
    The Women in ICT Awards took place in 2010 as a joint venture by the Department of Finance and Dell Australia to recognise excellence across a number of categories centred on the attraction, retention and progression of female ICT talent within the Australian Public Service. 

  3. Would you like more information?

    Please email eGovernment Awards Coordinator or phone 02 6215 3060. We look forward to hearing from you.