Skip to Content

You are in the Finance archive | Archive Home Page | Return to the Finance homepage | Contact Us

The Department of Finance Archive

The content on this page and other Finance archive pages is provided to assist research and may contain references to activities or policies that have no current application. See the full archive disclaimer.

ICT Governance Committees

AGIMO support several key ICT Governance Committees.

Secretaries’ ICT Governance Board (SIGB)

The Government approved new governance arrangements to oversee the implementation of the ICT Reform Agenda on 24 November 2008. The Secretaries’ ICT Governance Board (SIGB) reports to the Expenditure Review Committee and drives the Government’s ICT Reform Agenda. It replaces the former Secretaries' Committee on ICT (SCICT). The SIGB will be supported by the Chief Information Officer Committee, and the Chief Information Officer Forum. The SIGB will be focused on business, not technology or technical issues, and will be empowered to set whole-of-government strategies to support the policies and vision determined by Ministers. The SIGB comprises members at the Secretary or CEO level and is chaired by the Secretary of the Department of Finance.

The agencies represented on the SIGB include:

  • Attorney-General's Department
  • Department of Communications
  • Department of Defence
  • Department of Social Services
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Human Services
  • Department of Immigration and Border Protection
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • National Archives of Australia

SIGB Terms of Reference

Chief Information Officer Committee (CIOC)

  Under the direction of the SIGB, the CIOC investigates, identifies and endorses ICT issues and solutions and emerging trends to be applied at a whole-of-government level.    The CIOC is chaired by Finance and comprises Chief Information Officers (CIOs) representative of central bodies, portfolio departments and service delivery agencies.   The agencies represented on CIOC include:  

  • Department of Finance
  • Attorney-General’s Department
  • Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
  • Australian Customs and Border Protection Service
  • Australian Taxation Office
  • Department of Defence
  • Department of Industry
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Employment
  • Department of Human Services
  • Department of Social Services
  • Department of Immigration and Border Protection
  • Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Australian Bureau of Statistics
  • Department of Health

CIOC Terms of Reference

Cross Jurisdictional Chief Information Officers' Committee (CJCIOC)

The Cross Jurisdictional Chief Information Officers' Committee (CJCIOC), addresses e-government issues which span jurisdictional boundaries.  The CJCIOC provides leadership to all areas of government on implementing national strategic approaches to ICT across government. Membership of the CJCIOC includes CIOs or equivalent from the Australian Government, New Zealand Government, State and Territory Governments and a representative of the Australian Local Government Association who has observer status. Please refer to the CJCIOC Terms of Reference which were last reviewed in September 2011.

Chief Information Officer Forum (CIOF)

The Chief Information Officer Forum (CIOF) is a consultation and information sharing forum consisting of Chief Information Officers (CIOs) of smaller agencies not represented on the CIOC. It provides advice to the CIOC and the SIGB.

Contact for information on this page: